Current Date:

Saturday, 07 April 2018

Belarus' Academy of Sciences Signs MoUs with Five Sudanese Universities

MINSK  – (BelTA) The National Academy of Sciences of Belarus (NASB) has signed memorandums of understanding with five universities from Sudan, BelTA learned from the NASB press service. A Belarusian delegation comprising heads of eight universities has made a visit to Sudan. They signed memorandums with Sudan University of Science and Technology, University of Western Kordofan, University of Blue Nile, Open University of Sudan, and the African Science Park (Sudan). The agreements were inked by Igor Gancherenok, rector of the NASB Researchers Training Institute. “These agreements are designed to encourage the academic mobility of students, postgraduates, and faculty staff, hold joint scientific research, including the programs Erasmus+ and Horizont 2020, and exchange information and technologies. Sudan showed a keen interest in the opportunity to train researchers in the fields of nuclear physics, petrochemistry, and agricultural sciences,” the press service said. The Belarusian delegation went to Sudan to take part in the Belarus-Sudan forum of universities. The delegates met with the minister of higher education and scientific research, a representative of the Committee on Overseeing Sudan Relations with BRICS countries, the deputy agriculture and forestry minister. The Belarusians also visited the leading universities of Sudan. The memorandums of understanding are meant to continue the dialogue on Belarus-Sudan cooperation in science and technology. On 9 August 2017, after the visit of a Sudanese delegation to the NASB Researchers Training Institute and negotiations with three leading universities of Sudan, the sides signed agreements on cooperation in higher education, training researchers, and academic mobility of faculty staff and students.